Nova Scotia Nominee Program

Nova Scotia PNP (NSNP)

Streams, English levels and how to apply

Since February 18, 2026, the NSNP has 4 streams: Skilled Worker, Nova Scotia Graduate, Nova Scotia: Express Entry and Entrepreneur. Most worker streams need CLB 4 or 5 in English, and the Express Entry stream adds 600 CRS points. See which stream fits you.

  • Official sources
  • Checked October 18, 2026
Halifax waterfront, Nova Scotia

Planning to apply to Nova Scotia?

A CELPIP teacher will contact you with a free plan to reach the CLB level your stream needs.

immigrationPage.leadForm.formFinePrint

At a glance

Nova Scotia PNP at a glance

Streams

NSNP streams and English minimums

All streams listed here accept EOIs. Nova Scotia selects EOIs from the pool in draws, based on its priorities. Entrepreneur applications are by invitation only.

StreamWho it is forExpress EntryNova Scotia job offerMinimum English
Skilled WorkerForeign workers and recent international graduates hired by a Nova Scotia employer. You need 1 year of related work experience and must be 21 to 55. TEER 4–5 workers need 6 months with the employer. PGWP holders in TEER 5 jobs are not eligible.NoRequired, full-time permanentCLB 5 for TEER 0–3 (no proof needed if English or French is your first language); CLB 4 by test for TEER 4–5
Skilled Worker: ConstructionWorkers with a job offer from a construction employer (NAICS 23) in one of 22 listed occupations, such as carpenters, electricians and welders. You need a high school diploma or a construction training program.NoRequired, full-time permanentCLB 5 for TEER 0–3, CLB 4 for TEER 4–5, even if English or French is your first language
Skilled Worker: PhysiciansFamily physicians and specialists (NOC 31100, 31101, 31102) with an approved opportunity from the Nova Scotia Health Authority or the IWK Health Centre.NoRequired: approved NSHA or IWK opportunityNot applicable
Skilled Worker: Occupations in DemandWorkers in TEER 3–5 jobs that Nova Scotia lists as in demand. No occupations are listed at this time.NoRequired, full-time permanentCLB 4, even if English or French is your first language
Nova Scotia GraduateRecent graduates of a Nova Scotia school, age 19 to 55, with a job in NOC 32102, 32124, 33102 or 42202. The program must be at least 30 weeks (24 weeks for NOC 33102) and finished within 3 years.NoRequired, full-time permanent, in a listed jobCLB 5 (no proof needed if English or French is your first language)
Nova Scotia: Express Entry (Nova Scotia work experience)Express Entry candidates, age 21 to 55, with at least 1 year of work in Nova Scotia in a TEER 0–3 job. Work on a PGWP counts only if you graduated from a Nova Scotia school.YesNot statedCLB 7 for TEER 0–1, CLB 5 for TEER 2–3, by test
Nova Scotia: Express Entry (Physicians)Physicians with an approved NSHA or IWK offer, a 2-year Return for Service Agreement and a Letter of Interest in their Express Entry profile. Submit the EOI within 30 calendar days of the letter.YesRequired: approved NSHA or IWK offerYour Express Entry program's minimum
Nova Scotia: Express Entry (Letter of Interest)Express Entry candidates who get a Letter of Interest from Nova Scotia in their profile. Nova Scotia can add criteria for each round.YesNot statedYour Express Entry program's minimum
EntrepreneurExperienced business owners or senior managers who start or buy a Nova Scotia business. You need a net worth of $600,000 and must invest $150,000 ($400,000 and $100,000 outside Halifax Regional Municipality).NoNot requiredCLB 5 in all four abilities
Entrepreneur: International GraduateGraduates of a Nova Scotia university or the Nova Scotia Community College who have run their own Nova Scotia business for at least 1 year and hold a valid PGWP.NoNot requiredCLB 7 in all four abilities

Changes to know

  • On February 18, 2026, Nova Scotia combined 10 streams into 4. The Critical Construction Worker Pilot, Physician, International Graduates in Demand, Nova Scotia Experience: Express Entry and Labour Market Priorities streams are now part of the new streams.
  • Since April 17, 2024, Nova Scotia does not accept submissions in the Accommodation and Food Services sector.
  • Since May 1, 2026, a new EOI is valid for 12 months. EOIs submitted before May 1, 2024 were closed on May 1, 2026.
  • Nova Scotia gives priority to healthcare and skilled trades jobs at TEER 0–4. TEER 5 jobs are not being prioritized (April 27, 2026).
  • On July 14, 2026, Nova Scotia started a one-time expansion. It may select active EOIs submitted by June 30, 2026 from people who live and work in Nova Scotia and whose work permit expires in 2026 or earlier.
How to apply

How to apply (worker streams)

  1. Submit an Expression of Interest

    Choose a stream and submit a full application online. Nova Scotia treats it as an EOI. There is no fee to submit an EOI. Since May 1, 2026, an EOI stays in the pool for 12 months.

  2. Wait for a draw

    Nova Scotia selects EOIs based on labour market needs, occupation, region, immigration status and available spaces. Selection is not first-come, first-served, and Nova Scotia gives no timeline.

  3. Pay and update your documents

    If selected, you have 7 calendar days to upload updated documents and pay the application fee: $1,000 for worker streams. The fee is not refundable.

  4. Get nominated

    Nova Scotia assesses your application. If you meet the requirements, you may get a nomination and, if applicable, a work permit support letter. For Express Entry, accept the nomination in your profile within 30 days to get 600 points.

  5. Apply for permanent residence

    Apply to IRCC within 12 months of receiving your nominee certificate. IRCC makes the final decision.

Official sources

Checked against liveinnovascotia.com (the Government of Nova Scotia's official immigration website; novascotiaimmigration.com now redirects there), the NSNP stream guides (September 2026) and canada.ca on October 18, 2026. Check the official pages before you apply, because streams and priorities change often.

Pier 21 in Halifax, Nova Scotia
Old and new Canadian passports
Hand writing an exam in a classroom

Reach your Nova Scotia CLB level with CELPIP

Most Nova Scotia worker streams need CLB 4 or 5, and the Express Entry stream needs CLB 7 for TEER 0–1 jobs. CELPIP levels match CLB levels one to one.

  • CELPIP 4 = CLB 4
  • CELPIP 5 = CLB 5
  • CELPIP 6 = CLB 6
  • CELPIP 7 = CLB 7
  • CELPIP 8 = CLB 8
  • CELPIP 9 = CLB 9
  • CELPIP 10 = CLB 10
Take the free CELPIP diagnostic

Nova Scotia PNP questions

What English level does the Nova Scotia PNP need?

Skilled Worker needs CLB 5 for TEER 0–3 jobs and CLB 4 for TEER 4–5 jobs. Nova Scotia Graduate needs CLB 5. The Express Entry stream needs CLB 7 for TEER 0–1 jobs and CLB 5 for TEER 2–3 jobs. Entrepreneur needs CLB 5, and International Graduate Entrepreneur needs CLB 7.

Does a Nova Scotia nomination add 600 CRS points?

Only through the Nova Scotia: Express Entry stream. You accept the nomination in your Express Entry profile within 30 days and get 600 points. Skilled Worker, Nova Scotia Graduate and Entrepreneur are not Express Entry streams.

Do I need a job offer for the Nova Scotia PNP?

Skilled Worker and Nova Scotia Graduate need a full-time permanent job offer from a Nova Scotia employer. The Express Entry work experience option needs 1 year of work in Nova Scotia; a job offer is not stated. Entrepreneur streams do not need one.

How much does it cost?

An EOI is free. Since September 1, 2026, the application fee is $1,000 for worker streams and $2,000 for the Entrepreneur stream. You pay only if your EOI is selected. The fee is not refundable, and there are no waivers.

Does Nova Scotia use a points score for workers?

No. Nova Scotia publishes no points grid for its worker streams. It selects EOIs based on its priorities, such as healthcare and skilled trades jobs at TEER 0–4. Only the Entrepreneur stream ranks EOIs with a points grid.

How many candidates does Nova Scotia select?

Nova Scotia does not publish its 2026 allocation. From January to July 2026, it selected 3,242 candidates from the EOI pool. May was the highest month, with 789 (as of August 17, 2026).

Photographs: Halifax Waterfront (41039142235), daryl_mitchell from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada, CC BY-SA 2.0 · Pier 21 2010 1, Skeezix1000, CC BY-SA 3.0 · Canadian Passports - Old and New, Jusfiq, CC BY-SA 4.0 · Hand-writing-exam-classroom, Alison wood, CC BY 3.0